If You Like Mindy Kaling, Then You’ll Love These Relatable Books

Becca Van Sambeck
Becca is a recent Fordham grad, a former German beer hall girl, and a new Brooklyn resident who used to read the dictionary for fun as a kid. She has only gotten slightly less lame since then. She loves pugs, chicken fingers, reading and Game of Thrones.

Like me, you probably finished Mindy Kaling’s second book “Why Not Me” within a few hours and are still looking, months later, for a book that’s as good to fill that gaping hole in your heart. Mindy mastered the art of telling funny, relatable stories — reading her books felt more like a conversation with your best friend. Don’t fret, there’s other great memoirs out there that may just do the trick while we wait for Mindy to write that follow-up book with best bud and “The Office” co-star, BJ. Novak.

Tina Fey’s “Bossy Pants” and Amy Poehler’s “Yes Please”

If you want to be regaled by more tales of being a funny female in the entertainment industry, look no further than the queens of comedy themselves: Tina Fey and Amy Poehler. These two goddesses released their own memoirs over the years — “Bossypants” by Fey and “Yes Please” by Poehler — and they’re both filled with good stuff. The BFFs elaborate on their relationship with one another in both memoirs, proving it’s the epitome of #friendshipgoals. Fey and Poehler detail things like hosting the Golden Globes and writing for “Saturday Night Live” in a way that makes it seem like they’re sharing the secrets of their super cool life with just you and only you.

amy_poehler
54cb37176a3a4f83914f68e614053be0

Aziz Ansari’s “Modern Romance”

Aziz Ansari also published another hilarious must-read last year, although his wasn’t your typical take on the celebrity book. “Modern Romance” is packed with scientific and anecdotal research about dating in today’s modern age, discussing everything from Tinder, to better first dates, to the rules of early relationship texting. It’s a pretty interesting look at how technology’s revolutionized dating and it can even save you from making some dating mistakes.

My favorite takeaway was probably the Monster Truck Rally Theory — skip the boring first coffee or dinner date and instead take the guy/gal on a date that’s a little more wild and crazy in order to really understand the other’s personality. Aziz shows the gambit actually works on his show “Master of None” when he takes a first date on a weekend trip to Nashville, although I’d maybe recommend not going THAT crazy and offbeat…it could fall directly on to the very wrong side of the creepy/cute scale.

Aziz Ansari

B.J. Novak’s “One More Thing: Stories and Other Stories”

Of course, you can also go the Mindy-approved route and read a book from aforementioned BFF B.J. Novak, who wrote “One More Thing: Stories and Other Stories.” It’s composed of, well, stories and other stories. The short fiction pieces are funny, creative and insightful — some highlights include the story of the man who created the calendar and the tortoise’s rematch with the hare.

So the next time you’re feeling a little lonely and in need of a good laugh, don’t hesitate! These books are actually the equivalent of a best friend sleepover and will keep you smiling throughout. In no time at all, we’ll have that third Mindy book!

subscribe

SIGN ME UP