Gmail Finally Lets You Unsend An Email *Praise Lord Emoji* Here’s How

Google announced this week that the “Undo Send” feature will be added as an official setting in Gmail.

“Undo Send” allows Gmail users to cancel an email they sent if they have second thoughts, or notice a mistake.

Once you send your email, there will be an “undo send” button at the top of the screen. Through this feature, Google actually waits to send your email, which gives you a certain amount of time to change your mind. In your settings, you can adjust how long Google waits to send the email – you can choose between 5,10, 20 or 30 seconds. Once the allotted time is up, the “undo send” feature will disappear.

The feature has been in beta since 2009 as part of Google Labs, which is a set of features that the public is able to try out, even though Google hasn’t officially released them. In May, “Undo Send” was added to the new mobile update for Gmail.

How To Enable The Undo Send Button:

  1. Login to Gmail
  2. Click the settings button at the upper right corner (the gear icon)
  3. Go to the general tab
  4. Click the “Enable Undo Send”
  5. Choose your cancellation period (5,10,20, or 30 seconds)
  6. Save changes

Or if you’re the visual type, here’s a video:

 

subscribe

SIGN ME UP